Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomeHistory of PCEA

History of PCEA

Professional Construction Estimators Association of America, Inc. (PCEA) was chartered in 1956 with 35 members from various construction disciplines in Charlotte, North Carolina. Some of the Charter members remain active today.

During our early years, members rallied together to exchange ideas, promote educational endeavors and high ethical standards, while simultaneously developing new friendships. Under the leadership of Charlotte’s early presidents, the members set forth many goals to promote and support the industry while expanding the voluntary association. As a result of these efforts, a second chapter was formed during 1958 in Greensboro, North Carolina (now called the Triad Chapter). The Raleigh-Durham Chapter (now called the Triangle Chapter) followed behind in 1963. Subsequent chapters were formed in Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia and Florida.

Vern W. "Bill" Helms of the Charlotte Chapter was elected as our first National President in May 1975 during the first annual convention at Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. Since then, PCEA has grown to almost 1,000 members with twelve chapters in five states. Current goals include active expansion to other market areas.

PCEA members have always been active in the promotion of construction education for the betterment of the industry. Each chapter individually coordinates, develops and establishes programs to assist and enhance the educational endeavors in their community while pursuing the educational goals of membership. PCEA Chapters support educational programs ranging from, but not limited to, scholarships to local students, endowed scholarships at several Universities, providing construction instructors, purchasing equipment for use in technical training and introducing construction as a trade to "at risk" students.

In 1988, PCEA established the National PCEA Ted G. Wilson Memorial Scholarship Foundation, Inc. named in honor of our first Executive Director who passed away in 1987. The Foundation is funded through donations from the Chapters, companies, individual members and through the Order of Isosceles Fellowships. This Foundation awards annual college scholarships in each of the states served by PCEA.


Vern W. "Bill" Helms Charlotte Chapter 1975-1976
W. Aubrey Federal Charlotte Chapter 1976-1977
William A. Downey, Jr. Triangle Chapter 1977-1978
R.P. "Stephen" Davis Charlotte Chapter 1978-1979
Marshall L. Gurley Triangle Chapter 1979-1980
Marshall Y. Feimster Piedmont Chapter 1980-1981
G. Keith Middleton Charlotte Chapter 1981-1982
Carl Seager Triad Chapter 1982-1983
S. Ray Currin Triad Chapter 1983-1984
Larry Thompson Piedmont Chapter 1984-1985
H.H "Hub" Lyles Charlotte Chapter 1985-1986
Lynn Nash Catawba Valley Chapter 1986-1987
W. Clay Hodge Fayetteville Chapter 1987-1988
Tim Harward Triangle Chapter 1988-1989
Eddie Carroll Triad Chapter 1989-1990
Jack Smith Piedmont Chapter 1990-1991
Don Earles Columbia Chapter 1991-1992
Steve Boheler Charlotte Chapter 1992-1993
Grover Edwards Catawba Valley Chapter 1993-1994
Mel Rosenbaum Charlotte Chapter 1994-1995
Richard Mosby Central VA Chapter 1995-1996
Danny Alford Triangle Chapter 1996-1997
Lynn Keaton Piedmont Chapter 1997-1998
Wally Mills Triangle Chapter 1998-1999
Dennis Childs Columbia Chapter 1999-2000
Ron T. Kiser Triad Chapter 2000-2001
Chris Betts Charlotte Chapter 2001-2002
Alva D. Gaskin, Jr. CSRA Chapter 2002-2003
Kevin Jackson Triangle Chapter 2003-2004
Aaron Helms CSRA Chapter 2004-2005
Denton Wall Coastal Plains Chapter 2005-2006
Dean "Trey Shaw CSRAChapter 2006-2007
Charles S. "Chuck" Sauls Orlando Chapter 2007-2008
A. Wade Tippett Coastal Plains Chapter 2008-2009
Gail Chapman Columbia Chapter 2009-2010
Randall Williams Catawba Valley Chapter 2010-2011
Cebert White Hampton Roads Chapter 2011-2012
Lance Pollock Triad Chapter 2012-2013
Matt Solomon Columbia Chapter 2013-2014
Patty M. Delgado Catawba Valley Chapter 2014-2015
William H. Barton
Columbia Chapter
 Glenn Hessee
Triangle Chapter 2016-2017
 Randall Williams
Catawba Valley Chapter